Week 3 Artist – Bomb It Graffiti

The Graffiti video has definitely opened my eyes and changed my perspective of graffiti. Before, I used to think graffiti art was simply drawings and letters that people illegally placed on walls to release their emotions and express themselves. Although true graffiti art is a way for some to release their emotions and express themselves, I think that I have a deeper appreciation for those who can master in graffiti art. It takes time and skill to spray paint letters and drawings.

Also, I did not know there was a difference between gang art and graffiti art. I would consider spelling out letters and presenting them in a different way, whether they be bubble letters or decorated in other forms, I believe that it is still considered as art. Art, in my opinion, does not always have to be drawings, photos, or other illustrations that have color -letters can also count.

I hope that in the near future, there can be more opportunities in which people who are passionate can freely and legally express themselves. I hope they can have an open space to show their talent, and possibly even have contests, or rewards for doing so. Below are two photos and examples of graffiti art. I like the second photo, because it motivates me and has a positive message – that one is almost there, they just have to keep striving and keep going.

 

Leave a Reply

